Home / Research / NEON / Who is involved?


Who was involved?

The co-ordinating centre for NEON was the Institute of Mental Health, a collaboration between Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust and the University of Nottingham. Research was also conducted in London at two sites: Queen Mary University of London and King’s College London.

Principal Investigator for the NEON Programme

Mike Slade (Professor of Mental Health Recovery and Social Inclusion, School of Health Sciences, Institute of Mental Health, University of Nottingham.

Programme Co-ordinator

Stefan Rennick-Egglestone (School of Health Sciences, Institute of Mental Health, University of Nottingham).


Felicity Callard (Birkbeck, University of London)

Stefan Priebe (Queen Mary University of London)

Chris Hollis (University of Nottingham)

Graham Thornicroft (King’s College London)

Jeroen Keppens (King’s College London)

Rachel Elliott (University of Manchester)

Kristian Pollock (University of Nottingham)

Justine Schneider (University of Nottingham)

Lian van der Krieke (University of Groningen, Netherlands)

Vanessa Pinfold (McPin Foundation)

Melanie Smuk (Pragmatic Clinical Trials Unit, Queen Mary University of London)

Julie Repper (ImROC, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust)

Adele Bryan (Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust)

Funders and Sponsors

NEON was funded by the National Institute for Health Research under the Programme Grants for Applied Research Scheme (Funder reference RP-PG-0615-20016).

The sponsor of the NEON Study was Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust.

The study received approval from the Health Research Authority for all research work that it conducted. Relevant study IDs are: 234535 (NEON theory development work), 247343 (NEON intervention development work) and 249015 (NEON trials).

NEON had:

  • a Programme Steering Committee (Chair: Prof. Sonia Johnson, UCL)
  • an International Advisory Board with seven members
  • a Lived Experience Advisory Panel (Chair: Dan Robotham, the McPin Foundation)